14th and 15th July, 2022
Universidade da Beira Interior
SLATE 2022 - Symposium on Languages, Applications and Technologies

14th and 15th July, 2022
Universidade da Beira Interior
, Portugal

We often use languages. First, to communicate between ourselves. Later, to communicate with computers. And more recently, with the advent of networks, we found a way to make computers communicate between themselves. All these different forms of communication use languages, different languages, but that still share many similarities. In SLATE we are interested in discussing these languages.

SLATE 2022 General Chair:
João Cordeiro (HULTIG, INESC TEC, UBI, Covilhã, Portugal)
Being languages such a broad subject, SLATE is organized in three main tracks:

  1. HHL Track: Processing Human-Human Languages
    Chair: Sebastião Pais (HULTIG, Nova LINCS, GREYC, UBI, Covilhã, Portugal)

    HHL is a forum dedicated to the discussion of research projects and ideas involving natural language processing and their industrial application.

  2. HCL Track: Processing Human-Computer Languages
    Chair: Maria João Pereira (CeDRI, IPB, Bragança, Portugal)

    HCL is a forum where researchers, developers, educators exchange ideas and information on the latest academic or industrial work on language design, processing, assessment and applications.

  3. CCL Track: Processing Computer-Computer Languages
    Chair: Nuno F. Rodrigues (ALGORITMI, IPCA, Barcelos, Portugal)

    CCL main goal is to provide a broad space for discussion about the XML markup language: examples of usage and associated technologies.

  • Full papers - 8 to 14 pages, presented in 20+5 minutes, complete work, including a validation or discussion;
  • Short papers - 6 to 8 pages, presented in 10+5 minutes, ongoing work, well anchored in the literature, but not yet fully validated;
  • Lightning talks - no publication, presented in 3 to 5 minutes, research ideas or work that has just started.

All accepted papers will be published in the conference proceedings, under an ISBN reference, on paper and digital support. They will also integrate the OASIcs series: http://www.dagstuhl.de/publikationen/oasics/. In addition, the authors of selected papers will be invited to submit extended versions to appropriate journals (more information will be posted later on the conference website).

Papers should be written using the OASIcs LaTeX template, using the English language. Please refer to our website for details about the document preparation.

Scientific Committee
  • Alberto Simões (2Ai Lab - IPCA)
  • Alexander Paar (Duale Hochschule Schleswig-Holstein)
  • Antoni Oliver (Universitat Oberta de Catalunya)
  • Antonio Leitao (Universidade de Lisboa)
  • António Miguel Cruz (ESTG, Instituto Politécnico de Viana do Castelo)
  • António Teixeira (University of Aveiro)
  • Arkaitz Zubiaga (Queen Mary University of London)
  • Bostjan Slivnik (University of Ljubljana)
  • Brett Drury (Liverpool Hope University)
  • Cristina Ribeiro (INESC TEC- Faculty of Engineering, University of Porto)
  • David Aveiro (University of Madeira)
  • David Martins de Matos (INESC-ID, Instituto Superior Técnico, Universidade de Lisboa)
  • Diana Santos (University of Oslo)
  • Dietmar Seipel (Univ. Wuerzburg, Dept. of Computer Science)
  • Dušan Kolář (Brno University of Technology, Faculty of Information Technology)
  • Fernando Batista (INESC-ID & ISCTE-IUL)
  • Gergő Balogh (Department of Software Engineering, University of Szeged)
  • Giovani Librelotto (Universidade Federal de Santa Maria)
  • Hugo Gonçalo Oliveira (University of Coimbra)
  • Hugo Peixoto (University of Minho)
  • Irene Rodrigues (Universidade de Evora - Portugal)
  • Ivan Luković (University of Belgrade, Faculty of Organizational Sciences)
  • Jakub Swacha (University of Szczecin)
  • Jan Janousek (Czech Technical University Prague)
  • Jaroslav Porubän (Technical University of Košice)
  • Joao Cardoso (University of Porto)
  • Jose Luis Sierra (Universidad Complutense de Madrid)
  • Josep Silva (Universitat Politècnica de València)
  • José Carlos Paiva (University of Porto)
  • José Carlos Ramalho (University of Minho)
  • José Paulo Leal (University of Porto)
  • João Cordeiro (INESC TEC & HULTIG / University of Beira Interior)
  • João M. Lourenço (NOVA LINCS — Universidade NOVA de Lisboa)
  • João Saraiva (University of Minho)
  • Luis Morgado Da Costa (Nanyang Technological University)
  • Luís Ferreira (IPCA)
  • Maria João Pereira (Instituto Politécnico de Bragança)
  • Mario Berón (National University of San Luis)
  • Mario Pinto (ESMAD.IPP)
  • Nuno Mamede (Instituto Superior Técnico, INESC-ID Lisboa/L2F - Spoken Language Lab)
  • Nuno Rodrigues (IPCA-DIGARC and DI-CCTC)
  • Pablo Gamallo (University of Santiago de Compostela)
  • Paulo Matos (Polytechnic Institute of Bragança)
  • Pedro Rangel Henriques (University of Minho)
  • Ricardo Queirós (ESMAD- P.PORTO & CRACS - INESC TEC)
  • Ricardo Rocha (University of Porto)
  • Ricardo Rodrigues (Centre for Informatics and Systems of the University of Coimbra & College of Education of the Polytechnic of Coimbra)
  • Salvador Abreu (LISP & CRI / University of Evora)
  • Sebastião Pais (University of Beira Interior)
  • Simão Melo-de-Sousa (Universidade da Beira Interior)
  • Teresa Guarda (Universidad Estatal da Peninsula de Santa Elena - UPSE)
  • Tomaz Kosar (none)
  • Vasco Amaral (NOVA University Lisbon)
  • Vladimir Ivančević (University of Novi Sad, Faculty of Technical Sciences)
Organization Committee
  • Alberto Simões (2Ai-School of Technology, IPCA, Barcelos, Portugal)
  • João Cordeiro (HULTIG, INESC TEC, UBI, Covilhã, Portugal)
  • Pedro Henriques (gEPL, Universidade do Minho, Portugal)
  • Sebastião Pais (HULTIG, Nova LINCS, GREYC, UBI, Covilhã, Portugal)
Further Information