1st and 2nd July, 2021
Escola Superior de Media Artes
e Design
Instituto Politécnico
do Porto, Portugal
SLATE 2021 - Symposium on Languages, Applications and Technologies

1st and 2nd July, 2021
Escola Superior de Media Artes
e Design
Instituto Politécnico
do Porto, Portugal

We often use languages. First, to communicate between ourselves. Later, to communicate with computers. And more recently, with the advent of networks, we found a way to make computers communicate between themselves. All these different forms of communication use languages, different languages, but that still share many similarities. In SLATE we are interested in discussing these languages.

SLATE 2021 Chairs:
Ricardo Queirós (ESMAD/P.PORTO & uniMAD & CRACS/INESC TEC)
Mário Pinto (ESMAD/P.PORTO & uniMAD)
Alberto Simões (2Ai-School of Technology, IPCA, Barcelos, Portugal)
Being languages such a broad subject, SLATE is organized in three main tracks:

  1. HHL Track: Processing Human-Human Languages

    HHL is a forum dedicated to the discussion of research projects and ideas involving natural language processing and their industrial application.

  2. HCL Track: Processing Human-Computer Languages

    HCL is a forum where researchers, developers, educators exchange ideas and information on the latest academic or industrial work on language design, processing, assessment and applications.

  3. CCL Track: Processing Computer-Computer Languages

    CCL main goal is to provide a broad space for discusstion about the XML markup language: examples of usage and associated technologies.

  • Full papers - 8 to 14 pages, presented in 20+5 minutes, complete work, including a validation or discussion;
  • Short papers - 6 to 8 pages, presented in 10+5 minutes, ongoing work, well anchored in the literature, but not yet fully validated;
  • Lightning talks - no publication, presented in 3 to 5 minutes, research ideas or work that has just started.

All accepted papers will be published in the conference proceedings, under an ISBN reference, on paper and digital support. They will also integrate the OASIcs series: http://www.dagstuhl.de/publikationen/oasics/. In addition, the authors of selected papers will be invited to submit extended versions to appropriate journals (more information will be posted later on the conference website).

Papers should be written using the OASIcs LaTeX template, using the English language. Please refer to our website for details about the document preparation.

Scientific Committee
  • Salvador Abreu (LISP & CRI / University of Evora)
  • Ana Alves (Centre for Informatics and Systems - University of Coimbra)
  • Jorge Baptista (U. Algarve & L2F-Spoken Language Lab,INESC ID Lisboa (Portugal))
  • Fernando Batista (INESC-ID & ISCTE-IUL)
  • Mario Berón (National University of San Luis)
  • Nuno Ramos Carvalho (University of Minho)
  • Luísa Coheur (IST/INESC-ID Lisboa)
  • Brett Drury (LIAAD-INESC-TEC)
  • Joao Fernandes (University of Coimbra)
  • Jean-Christophe Filliatre (CNRS)
  • Mikel Forcada (DLSI - Universitat d'Alacant)
  • Pablo Gamallo (University of Santiago de Compostela)
  • Hugo Gonçalo Oliveira (University of Coimbra)
  • Xavier Gómez Guinovart (Universidade de Vigo)
  • Geylani Kardas (Ege University International Computer Institute)
  • Jan Kollar (Dept of Computers and Informatics FEI TU Kosice)
  • Antonio Leitao (Universidade de Lisboa)
  • João Lourenço (NOVA LINCS — Universidade NOVA de Lisboa)
  • Ivan Luković (University of Novi Sad, Faculty of Technical Sciences)
  • Simão Melo de Sousa (Release/LISP & LIACC & Departamento de Informática, Universidade da Beira Interior)
  • Marjan Mernik (University of Maribor)
  • Luis Morgado Da Costa (Nanyang Technological University)
  • Antoni Oliver (Universitat Oberta de Catalunya)
  • Ricardo Queirós (ESMAD- P.PORTO & CRACS - INESC TEC)
  • Alexandre Rademaker (IBM Research Brazil and EMAp/FGV)
  • Pedro Rangel Henriques (University of Minho)
  • Ricardo Rocha (University of Porto)
  • Ricardo Rodrigues (Centre for Informatics and Systems of the University of Coimbra, and College of Education of the Polytechnic Institute of Coimbra)
  • Irene Rodrigues (Universidade de Evora - Portugal)
  • João Saraiva (University of Minho)
  • Jose Luis Sierra (Universidad Complutense de Madrid)
  • Josep Silva (Universitat Politècnica de València)
  • Alberto Simões (2Ai Lab - IPCA)
  • Bostjan Slivnik (University of Ljubljana)
  • Arkaitz Zubiaga (Queen Mary University of London)
Organization Committee
  • Ricardo Queirós (Escola Superior de Media Artes e Design, PP, Portugal)
  • Mário Pinto (Escola Superior de Media Artes e Design, PP, Portugal)
  • Alberto Simões (Instituto Politécnico do Cávado e do Ave, Portugal)
  • Teresa Terroso (Escola Superior de Media Artes e Design, PP, Portugal)
  • Jorge Lima (Escola Superior de Media Artes e Design, PP, Portugal)
Further Information