4th to 5th July, 2024
ESTGA, University of Aveiro
Águeda, Portugal


SLATE 2024 - Symposium on Languages, Applications and Technologies

4th to 5th July, 2024
ESTGA, University of Aveiro, Águeda, Portugal

We often use languages. First, to communicate between ourselves. Later, to communicate with computers. And more recently, with the advent of networks, we found a way to make computers communicate between themselves. All these different forms of communication use languages, different languages, but that still share many similarities. In SLATE we are interested in discussing these languages.

SLATE 2024 General Chair:
Mário Rodrigues (IEETA and ESTGA, University of Aveiro, Portugal)
Being languages such a broad subject, SLATE is organized in three main tracks:

  1. HHL Track: Processing Human-Human Languages
    Chair: Mário Rodrigues (IEETA and ESTGA, University of Aveiro, Portugal)

    HHL is a forum dedicated to the discussion of research projects and ideas involving natural language processing and their industrial application.

  2. HCL Track: Processing Human-Computer Languages
    Chair: José Paulo Leal (Dep CC, Faculty of Sciences, University of Porto)

    HCL is a forum where researchers, developers, educators exchange ideas and information on the latest academic or industrial work on language design, processing, assessment and applications.

  3. CCL Track: Processing Computer-Computer Languages
    Chair: Filipe Portela (Algoritmi, University of Minho)

    CCL main goal is to provide a broad space for discussion about the XML markup language: examples of usage and associated technologies.

  • Full papers - 8 to 14 pages, presented in 20+5 minutes, complete work, including a validation or discussion;
  • Short papers - 6 to 8 pages, presented in 10+5 minutes, ongoing work, well anchored in the literature, but not yet fully validated;

Papers should be written using the OASIcs LaTeX template, using the English language. Please refer to our website for details about the document preparation.

Scientific Committee
  • Alberto Simões
  • Alexander Paar
  • Antoni Oliver
  • Antonio Leitao
  • António Miguel Rosado da Cruz
  • António Teixeira
  • Bostjan Slivnik
  • Brett Drury
  • Cristina Ribeiro
  • David Martins de Matos
  • Diana Santos
  • Dietmar Seipel
  • Dušan Kolář
  • Fernando Batista
  • Filipe Portela
  • Gergő Balogh
  • Hugo Gonçalo Oliveira
  • Hugo Peixoto
  • Irene Rodrigues
  • Ivan Luković
  • Jakub Swacha
  • Jan Janousek
  • Jaroslav Porubän
  • João Cordeiro
  • João Saraiva
  • José Carlos Paiva
  • José Carlos Ramalho
  • José João Almeida
  • Jose Luis Sierra
  • José Paulo Leal
  • Josep Silva
  • Luís Ferreira
  • Luis Filipe Costa Cunha
  • Luís Matos
  • Luis Morgado Da Costa
  • Maria João Varanda Pereira
  • Mário Beron
  • Mario Pinto
  • Pablo Gamallo
  • Paulo Matos
  • Pedro Rangel Henriques
  • Renato Preigschadt de Azevedo
  • Ricardo Queirós
  • Ricardo Rocha
  • Ricardo Rodrigues
  • Salvador Abreu
  • Simão Melo de Sousa
  • Teresa Guarda
  • Teresa Pereira
  • Tiago Pereira
  • Tomaz Kosar
  • Vladimir Ivančević
Organization Committee
  • Mário Rodrigues (IEETA and ESTGA, University of Aveiro, Portugal)
  • Alberto Simões (2Ai Laboratory, School of Technology, IPCA, Portugal)
  • António Teixeira (IEETA and DETI, University of Aveiro, Portugal)
  • Fábio Marques (IEETA and ESTGA, University of Aveiro, Portugal)
  • Gabriel Silva (IEETA and DETI, University of Aveiro, Portugal)
Further Information